View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:13 am



Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
 Round 6 Discussion - Willow Springs 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
Image

Sunday, November 18, 2018

rF1 track: Willow Springs

Qualifying: 6:30 PM PST / 18:30 PST / 02:30 UTC (15 Minute PRIVATE session)
Warmup: 6:45 PM PST (5 minute Driver's Meeting)
Race 1 Green Flag: 6:50 PM PST (two-race Twin Sprint Pro Am format, 15 laps each)

Practice Server Time: 12:00 noon
Qualifying Server Time: 12:00 noon
Race Server Time: 12:00 noon

damage: 65% (shall be turned off for weekday practice)
fuel multiplier: normal
tire multiplier: normal
mechanical failures: normal
timescale: normal
flag rules: none

Trans Am qualifying lap record holder: new track

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:41 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
We last raced here in 2013:

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=1791

The track is almost an anomaly for the John Culbert Jr era as it's a fictitious fantasy (which John never condoned) version of what is real track in Southern California.

There is a much more accurate to real life version out there but this one is much wider, simpler, more fun to hot lap and should race well.

I patched it a few years ago to eliminate some deadly trackside features so please to be sure to grab the track from the downloads thread as it was probably before I started editing the loading screen and TDF file to trigger a telltale mismatch and a warning that someone has the wrong version; if you have the original deadlier version you may not see a mismatch and will be at a disadvantage.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:16 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:57 pm
Posts: 1079
I'm out the next two races. Good luck KJ! And to the rest of you all as well :D

_________________
Image
Image


Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
P Sweeney wrote:
I'm out the next two races. Good luck KJ! And to the rest of you all as well :D
Well I'm going to really need some luck! My main/ game PC is down, won't boot into windows, just tries to repair windows and fails. :shock: Looks like I got corrupted windows files or HD sectors going bad, attempted all kinds of fixes last night and nothing worked. I'll try a few more things tonight and if I can't fix I'll reload Win 10. Before this all happened I cloned the drive on Sunday to a SSD drive and when I put it in on Tuesday night it was attempting to repair Windows when I fired it up. So pulled out the SSD, put the original drive back in and it worked fine Tuesday night. So looks like cloning the drive copied the bad crap to the SSD also. So I may just put the SSD back in and fix/reload that one. Hopefully all is fixed by Sunday.

Bleeping computers!! :twisted:

_________________
Image


Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:39 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
That's racin' :mrgreen:

Good luck KJ, wish could help but I learn PC stuff on as-needed basis so I don't know much.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:04 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
P Sweeney wrote:
I'm out the next two races. Good luck KJ! And to the rest of you all as well :D


:(

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:53 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
Tom Lory wrote:
That's racin' :mrgreen:

Good luck KJ, wish could help but I learn PC stuff on as-needed basis so I don't know much.
Kind of the way it goes for me too Tom. One thing I've learned is you have to have a working PC on the internet to fix a not working PC, Google and YouTube are your friends.

Well no joy yet, didn't have much time last night to work on it. Looks like I'm going to have to re-load Windows but didn't want to start that at 10pm last night so will do it tonight. :(

_________________
Image


Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:20 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
Coincidence or class action against Microsoft?

Dave from NRT sent out an email this morning (deleted some content) :

Good Morning....

The last Microsoft Windows 10 update screwed my home and NRT work PC...why I have no idea...

I am able to check my e-mail

But that is it.

I knew something was going goofy when all night I didn't get the regular e-mails.

It wasn't hacked...I think the Motherboard has gone south... wish I was down South right now..

This happened after I updated to the latest Windows 10 patch...so be careful..

I will try and keep up with any e-mails...but might be hard to try anf fix any issues from a Ipad or phone..

Off we go...into the snow..

Thanks for the understanding....

Dave

NRT

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:22 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 10:08 pm
Posts: 33
Sunday nights are becoming an issue for me being able to make races for the foreseeable future. Schedule changes at home here. Disappointing because I had some really fun racing over the summer with you guys and if things change I'd like to pick it back up again at some point.
Thanks all for having me race the past few months.


Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:38 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:12 pm
Posts: 1006
Location: Atlanta GA USA
Great track! Seems like it will race well.

I am keeping hopeful but I am working tomorrow right up until race time, assuming everything goes to plan I will make it. I may miss race 1 or both if it doesn't. :|


Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:00 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
Now Teamspeak isn't working but Mumble is :lol:

I'll be on Mumble through Sunday

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:38 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
I finally got the PC up and running with fresh install of Win 10, then my HDD with rfactor and other sims wasn't showing up. Today I got that showing. Next step is to see if I can actually run RF yet.

_________________
Image


Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:59 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
BSmith wrote:
Great track! Seems like it will race well.

I am keeping hopeful but I am working tomorrow right up until race time, assuming everything goes to plan I will make it. I may miss race 1 or both if it doesn't. :|


Good luck, Brandon, hope that you can make it.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sat Nov 17, 2018 8:43 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
K Juliot wrote:
I finally got the PC up and running with fresh install of Win 10, then my HDD with rfactor and other sims wasn't showing up. Today I got that showing. Next step is to see if I can actually run RF yet.


That's promising.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sat Nov 17, 2018 8:43 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
Well I'm in PC hell now. :evil:

Rfactor wont go wants to be activated, but now all rfactor stuff is only by steam. My rfactor was never on steam and I had a bunch of Lite installs all activated the old way and I still have the code.

Rfactor2 is on steam along with Assetto Corsa and Automobilista and after loading steam and logging in I see my games but says "Install" next to them, there already installed. So do I need to re-install via steam again.

Mumble doesn't go, Teamspeak doesn't go

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

_________________
Image


Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:15 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1266
K Juliot wrote:
Well I'm in PC hell now. :evil:

Rfactor wont go wants to be activated, but now all rfactor stuff is only by steam. My rfactor was never on steam and I had a bunch of Lite installs all activated the old way and I still have the code.

Rfactor2 is on steam along with Assetto Corsa and Automobilista and after loading steam and logging in I see my games but says "Install" next to them, there already installed. So do I need to re-install via steam again.

Mumble doesn't go, Teamspeak doesn't go

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:


Those are a lot of separate problems. Sounds like maybe you rebuilt your profile but overwrote the registry fresh. I've been there thanks to a failed Win 10 -> 7 rollback. In the end, the solution was to resintall anything. Restoring the old registry would've broken everything at the system level.

Steam should be easy. Do "Verify Game Files" on each game. If that doesn't work, backup your Steam\steamapps directory somewhere and reinstall Steam over itself. It should then see all the content in the original steamapps folder. If that's been wiped due to the resintall then copy your backed up version back into the folder.

I'm guessing you'll need to do a similar process for each program you have broken licensing and/or profile linking.

For rF1 I'm not sure how to resolve the old license issue. It's likely that the ISI activation process is broken now. I never owned the key version... I upgraded from the disc-based DRM straight to Steam via the free ISI license conversion.


Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:04 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:44 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Quebec, Canada
Will miss you on the field Frank hope you get back soon !

_________________
Image


Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:50 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
Thanks Dale. I have a new SSD drive with fresh Windows on it, was supposed to be a clone of my original 80gb Windows drive but that didn't work out. Everything else is on other drives including my steam installs and nothing changed on them, except none of the sims work now. :(

I did submit the form to ISI to get a new code for rFactor, so see how long that takes

_________________
Image


Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:52 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1266
The good thing about SSDs is that if you have to reinstall everything from scratch it's a lot faster than the days of HDD! I have a spare PC that I'm building up for use in the garage. It was satisfying to chuck the 300 GB HDD into my parts box (which originally took most of an evening to install Windows, update, install software, update again, etc.) when things went sideways then rebuild the system on a SSD in under 90 minutes. :D


Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:35 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
Well I have no idea what to do here. I got a steam key from ISI now but I don't have RF on steam only physical installs on my hard drive which I don't think can be converted to steam. Do I have to re-purchase RF1 then use the steam key I got? What about all my Lite installs will they work again. I think Pat went through all this but he's not around to ask.

Dead in the water till I can figure this out.

_________________
Image


Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:43 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1266
K Juliot wrote:
Well I have no idea what to do here. I got a steam key from ISI now but I don't have RF on steam only physical installs on my hard drive which I don't think can be converted to steam. Do I have to re-purchase RF1 then use the steam key I got? What about all my Lite installs will they work again. I think Pat went through all this but he's not around to ask.

Dead in the water till I can figure this out.


You need to redeem the Steam Key which puts the game in your library. https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... -tfbn-1352

Then you need to address *each* Lite install. Easiest way is do one vanilla Steam rFactor 1 install then copy the Steam files from ...\steamapps\common\rFactor and copy into each Lite install. Then ensure the Steam client is running in the background before launching any other installs from their direct shortcut (not through Steam). I'm going to fire up my sim PC and get you more details.


Last edited by Dale Beatty on Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:57 pm, edited 5 times in total.



Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:32 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1266
This is what works for me.

These get copied into the game's root dir (where rfactor.exe is)

rfactor.exe (you want the new exe, *DO NOT apply 4GB patch, the new exe has support*)
steam_api.dll
steam_appid.txt
steamclient.dll
tier0_s.dll
vstdlib_s.dll


And this in rFactor/Plugins:
SteamPlugin.dll

Unfortunately for separate Mod/Lite installs to co-exist with Steam you need this hybrid install scheme.

DISCLAIMER: this is for my CD-based DRM version... YMMV and you may need to Google to find the unique steps for your install but I don't think so.


Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:40 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Minnesota, USA
Thanks Dale got it to load

_________________
Image


Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:32 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6283
Location: Novato, California
Chris Sherburn come back we are restarting race

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:39 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:57 pm
Posts: 1079
Well I made it back. Sorry I missed the last two races but I was enjoying fun in the sun Florida style. Anyway, KJ - Dale probably doing things with Steam the best way but all I did was add a 'non steam game' rFactor. I created a folder under steam apps rFactor Historix, installed the main rFactor program there then went back and installed Historix in that folder just like you normally do in 'non steam' install. It works. I have not installed any lites yet but would think it works the same.

Anyway, can help, just send me a text and we'll work it out.

_________________
Image
Image


Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:40 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 25 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.