View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:58 pm



Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ] 
 PCGameBenchmark tool for rFactor 2 & system scores 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
Here is a helpful tool to evaluate your PC's suitability for rFactor2 and where it needs improvement:

https://www.pcgamebenchmark.com/input/?game=rfactor-2

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:25 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
results as expected for my game PC and rFactor 2:

Image

Image

Lapping alone, I've been getting 20-30 FPS with most graphics on high settings except for shadows (I'll update with exact settings).

For comparison, here's what it looks like when evaluated for rFactor:

Image

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:31 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
Those of you with systems that run rFactor 2 on high settings effortlessly, please help us out with specs and especially nice if you could also report the benchmark results.

I'll periodically run the tool and update your posts with screenshots.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:35 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:32 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Sacramento, CA
From the research I did, an Intel Core i5 is all you need. No need for a Core i7: the extra threads are not used for rF2. At the time I put my rig together, 8 Gig RAM was all that was used as well. I went with a NVidia GTX 970 since I use one screen at HD. My fps usually stay above 100. Logitech G25 wheel and pedals completes the basics. Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.

I'm happy with it for now ... until a next gen NVidia card sinks to my cost level.

by admin (I had to guess at the Core i5):

Image

Image

_________________
Jim Carvalho

"The best dividends on the labor invested have invariably come from seeking more knowledge rather than more power." Wilbur and Orville Wright


Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:41 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1325
JimmyC wrote:
From the research I did, an Intel Core i5 is all you need. No need for a Core i7: the extra threads are not used for rF2.


This is true. rF2 is using either two or three threads now. The only justification for i7 would be if you wanted to do Twitch streaming while you game.

I was reasonably happy 1.5 years ago (the sim is more efficient now) with a Core i5-3570K and EVGA GTX 970 SSC (factory overclock) and I only run triples with Multiview. If you don't want to use Multiview (which eats frames) then performance gets that much easier.

As another data point, my current sim PC is Core i7-8700K and EVGA GTX 1080 FTW (I mostly upgraded for VR). That runs rF2 very well with most eye candy on but be aware that even though they're still dealing with some legacy inefficiencies (reflections for example) you can get this sim looking quite good without all the options on.


Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:27 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3474
Location: Minnesota, USA
My game PC I built 7.5 years ago to run RF2, well it really didn't in the end. After my video card crapped out a couple of years ago I upgrade it and now can run RF2.

My system is i5 2500K, 8 gig ram and Nvidia 1050TI 4 gig. I get between 60 - 120 FPS RF2 on track with others, with most settings on highest. According to the benchmark tool for RF2 my processor is ok, uprades to 16gb ram and a newer higher 8gb video card would be what I need. Upgrading both of those would improve my old PC and they could be easily used in a new system build when the time comes.

I'm getting into a lot more photo processing and editing so the upgrades would not be just for gaming.

by admin:

Image

Image

_________________
Image


Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:55 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
I am going to hold out as long as possible but in case anyone is stressed about having to upgrade his PC, it looks like currently <$1000 can buy you a new PC that will run rF2 like a champ.

Too many choices to list on Amazon alone and they will just keep getting better or cheaper.

Being 100% ready for rF2 is on my post-Christmas 2019 list ;)

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:34 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:10 pm
Posts: 865
Here's the setup I put together this summer:

iBUYPOWER PC
Intel i5 9400F
8 GB RAM
Nvidia RTX 2070 :twisted:
Thrustmaster T-150 :lol:
Oculus Rift S (VR)
GT-OMEGA wheel stand

The Oculus Rift S runs at 80Hz, so I only need to maintain 80 FPS minimum, which is easy for this vid card.

_________________
2011 Fall International Tour - TC2 [Pro] Champion
2013 2.4 Hours of Le Mans - GT Class [Open] Champion
First Sunday Pole - 2008 ~ Last Sunday Pole - 2019


Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:15 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
I'm guessing that graphics card cost more than the '73 Datsun 1200 that I drove for 10+ years :lol:

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:15 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:10 pm
Posts: 865
Let me clarify... by 'put together' i meant drive to Best Buy and bought a premade gaming PC on sale. I didn't built it, nor upgrade it.... yet.

_________________
2011 Fall International Tour - TC2 [Pro] Champion
2013 2.4 Hours of Le Mans - GT Class [Open] Champion
First Sunday Pole - 2008 ~ Last Sunday Pole - 2019


Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:03 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1325
Jonathan Hill wrote:
Let me clarify... by 'put together' i meant drive to Best Buy and bought a premade gaming PC on sale. I didn't built it, nor upgrade it.... yet.


You can get some fairly nice gaming PCs at Best Buy on sale (especially when they do clearout pricing). My Mom got some sort of HP with Core i7 and GTX 1070 last year for a price that I couldn't believe. I don't remember exactly what the price was but it was a lot less than I could put together with separate components.


Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:09 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
Thanks for the Best Buy reminder, almost everything that I buy comes from Costco or Amazon.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:15 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
I'm not certain but I think that lapping Watkins Glen with my inadequate graphics card that was probably in the 20-35 FPS range triggered a headache so I am going to be careful with how much time I spend with rF2 until I can upgrade my graphics card or PC.

I am not having any issues as far as I can tell beyond frame rate so I might get by with a new power supply and graphics card.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:46 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:10 pm
Posts: 865
Tom, your Radeon R7 240 isn't even on the PassMark Software - High End page! :shock:
Your card is halfway down the PassMark Software - Mid Range page. :lol:

I have an old PC I don't use anymore with a Radeon HD 6970 (PCI-E) that is old as dirt but will blow away your current card. I'd be glad to ship it to you if you want to PM me with your address. It should cut down on your headaches, until you upgrade. 8-)

PassMark Software benchmark comaprisons:

Radeon R7 240 = 976 (G3D Mark Score)
Radeon HD 6970 = 3524 (G3D Mark Score)

_________________
2011 Fall International Tour - TC2 [Pro] Champion
2013 2.4 Hours of Le Mans - GT Class [Open] Champion
First Sunday Pole - 2008 ~ Last Sunday Pole - 2019


Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
It was all that I needed for rFactor and only 30 watts power demand.

Sweet, sending my address in a minute.

Please bill me for the shipping or I'll credit it to your ESR account.

Please don't send the whole PC, damn you :lol:

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:31 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
Looks like I will be damn close with Jonathan's old graphics card:

Image

Image

Medium term bonus is that I will be forced to upgrade the power supply which makes me ready for the next graphics card.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:14 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1325
Tom Lory wrote:
Medium term bonus is that I will be forced to upgrade the power supply which makes me ready for the next graphics card.


Now you're thinking with portals!


Fri Aug 16, 2019 10:01 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
On sale now @ Costco through 2019-08-25

HP Pavilion Gaming Desktop - Intel Core i7 - GeForce GTX 1050 Ti

$800

https://www.costco.com/HP-Pavilion-Gami ... 54271.html

Image

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:32 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
On sale now @ Costco through 2019-09-08

Acer Predator Orion 3000 Gaming Tower - Intel Core i5 - GeForce GTX 1060

$800

https://www.costco.com/Acer-Predator-Or ... 89953.html

Image

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:37 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
On sale now @ Costco through 2019-08-25

Acer Nitro 50 Gaming Tower - Intel Core i7 - AMD Radeon RX 580

$800

https://www.costco.com/Acer-Nitro-50-Ga ... 89938.html

Image

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Aug 22, 2019 2:44 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
I'm on the fence about buying a new PC ($800) or improving mine ($260)

( :lol: On the screen, $260 looks a whole lot better)

I have had zero issues with my HP PC and Windows 7.

It seems like Windows 10 has been one problem after the other for many here.

Save $540 AND avoid Windows 10 at the cost of less than maximum performance but still meeting or exceeding the recommended requirements?

If am going to buy new I am going to wait till closer to the end of year or maybe even after Jan 1, otherwise I'll buy a new power supply immediately and use the Radeon HD 6970 that Red Racer sent me until I am compelled to upgrade the graphics card further.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Aug 22, 2019 3:12 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3474
Location: Minnesota, USA
[quote="Tom Lory"]It seems like Windows 10 has been one problem after the other for many here.

I have really not had any issues with Win 10 and run it on 6 different PC/laptops. On my game PC I have separate physical drives ( Actually 4 HDD's) one just for the operating system and then the other everything else, I think that gets rid of most of if not all of the problems. Even after all the updates Win 10 does still no issues, so I wouldn't fear Win 10 Tom. There is no way I'd go back to Win 7.

_________________
Image


Thu Aug 22, 2019 9:23 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:57 pm
Posts: 1143
Just to mention it again, the only win 10 issue that was a real problem was the win 1803 update (May 2018) did not work with my Intel SSD drive. I replaced it with Micro-Center's brand (china cheap I guess) and all is well. No other issues stopping me from racing. Overall quite happy with it.

_________________
Image
Image


Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:48 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
Trouble free but KJ has four hard drives that "gets rid of most of if not all of the problems" and Pat had to install a new SSD.

If you were describing an aircraft, I would not be climbing in :lol:

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:31 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
HP Pavilion Gaming Desktop Computer, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, 16GB RAM

$800

Image

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:18 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
HP Pavilion VR Ready Gaming Desktop Computer, AMD Ryzen 5 2400G, 8GB DDR4, AMD Radeon RX 580, 1TB HDD + 128GB SSD

$630

https://www.amazon.com/HP-Pavilion-Comp ... way&sr=8-3

Image

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:26 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:05 pm
Posts: 3474
Location: Minnesota, USA
Tom Lory wrote:
Trouble free but KJ has four hard drives that "gets rid of most of if not all of the problems" and Pat had to install a new SSD.

If you were describing an aircraft, I would not be climbing in :lol:
I've always run the operating system on either a separate partition or a another drive, it's just a better way to go. Having the second non system drive has allowed me to install old legacy software with out any windows issues

The four drives are not required and just what I've ended up with.

Drive 1: 120gb SSD, operating system.
Drive 2: 500gb HDD, original 2nd drive has all the gaming stuff on it, just easier to keep it in the system.
Drive 3: 2tb HDD, new main drive has everything but gaming software on it. Needed more storage for photo's.
Dive 4: 500gb HDD, extra drive I had so installed it and it gets backup of photos and document folders automatically.

_________________
Image


Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:24 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
I ended up buying an Acer Predator Orion 3000 while it was on sale from Costco so that I am covered. I have 90 days to return it for a full refund including shipping charges. I could exploit Costco's policy and use it until then but I won't even open the box until I am closer to the final decision, if at all.

https://www.costco.com/Acer-Predator-Or ... 89953.html

I may still go with just a 500W power supply and new graphics card upgrade to my current gaming PC but I am going to wait to see what develops with ESR and technology. I fear that cooling may be an issue with simply upgrading but having said that, I am certain that I could design and implement a low cost fix. The longer that I wait the more that I'll get for my money and Trans Am 2019 will keep me fully occupied through the end of the year.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:36 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
The longer you wait for a technology purchase the more you get for your money or you pay less.

The system that landed on my porch three days ago is now $50 cheaper at regular price than the sale price that I got it for :roll:

I'll be returning it during my next Costco run.

It also seems like graphics cards got cheaper from the last time that I paid attention...

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:11 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:17 pm
Posts: 1325
The GTX 1060 in that system isn't too bad for a previous-gen card. IIRC, the 1060 was the last card in the 10x0 line, so it got some of the benefits of that series' evolution over time and that's the better 6 GB version. Overall, a decent budget system for now, for sure... just not perhaps all that future-proof.

However, spinning HDD isn't what I'd choose for a new system. Optane is a cost-adding band-aid solution, IMO. Cheap and reliable SSDs like the Crucial MX500 are here to stay now. SSD and a good backup schedule* are the way to go.

* SSD tends to fail with no warning. In the past with HDD you'd often know when you had a few days to copy your data off a failing drive but now, poof, it's gone.


Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:02 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
Thank you, Dale.

I am very leery of buying a new PC that will be inadequate for whatever comes after rF2 but am unwilling to spend the money required to hopefully future-proof for an unknown future so I am back to almost certainly going with a 500-600W power supply and a graphics card that is excellent for rF2. I may add another 8GB of memory to raise from 8 to 16 while I am it.

I did a reality check on my current PC case. The cooling certainly seems adequate but there is room in the sheetmetal for more vents and I'd expect a larger, more efficient or additional case fan to be an easy upgrade.

Here's what I have in case anyone sees an issue or can recommend improvements:

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:48 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:32 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Sacramento, CA
I don't think rF2 uses 8 Gb RAM. I'd put the money into a graphics card.

_________________
Jim Carvalho

"The best dividends on the labor invested have invariably come from seeking more knowledge rather than more power." Wilbur and Orville Wright


Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:39 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
With new gaming PCs well under $1000, a new generation of AMD graphics cards coming and Turbo Tax alerting that 2020 will be the last tax year that Windows 7 is supported, I am going low effort with my current gaming PC and ordered a Zotac GTX 1650 so that I can avoid upgrading my power supply (PSU) and the uncertainty of fitting my case and connectors.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QF ... UTF8&psc=1

I can still change my mind and send it back no cost, wanted to lock something in ahead of Cyber Monday, could still order a PSU and make sure I get that squared away before I buy a new graphics card.

I may buy a new PC at the end of 2020 and based on benchmarks, reported frame rates with various cards on rF2 and KJ having a 1050TI, the GTX 1650 will be fine and at least 7 times faster than my current GPU which is adequate at many tracks despite being rated to be 20% of what I need for rF2.

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Sat Nov 30, 2019 4:09 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:32 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Sacramento, CA
I know for a long time rF2 was working much better with Nvidia cards than AMD. I don't know if that's still true. Maybe something to consider.

_________________
Jim Carvalho

"The best dividends on the labor invested have invariably come from seeking more knowledge rather than more power." Wilbur and Orville Wright


Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:06 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:05 pm
Posts: 6909
Location: Novato, California
The Zotac Nvidia GTX 1650 seems to have elevated my system to perfectly adequate.

Average over 100 FPS @ Le Mans with same settings that averaged ~30 with the previous card (Radeon R7 240 OC) high to full settings for most except shadows and reflections.

I downloaded the drivers before I installed the new graphics card and had them ready on a thumb drive. I updated the drivers after I started the PC, automatically went to 1920 x 1080 after a restart and my rFactor 2 settings remained unchanged.

I left the AMD Radeon drivers and utility installed, Windows 7 is bugging me about that so I'll probably uninstall those after I give it a minute to be sure all is well.

Capped @ 60 fps by editing the rFactor 2 player JSON file.

2011 HP HPE-519C
AMD Phenom II X6 1065T, Windows 7, 8 GB RAM, Zotac GTX 1650 4GB, 1920 x 1080 single monitor...

Image

_________________
Tom Lory
2014 AES Champion
2015 GTC-1 Pro Champion
2015 SCCS GT1 Pro Champion
2015 AES Champion
2016 AES Champion
2017 AES Champion
2018 GTC-4 Pro Champion
2018 Simca Abarth 1150 Corsa Cup Pro Champion
http://www.loryelectric.com


Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:30 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 35 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.